Eclipse Two

I am currently reading for Eclipse Two, the second volume in the original science fiction and fantasy anthology series that I am editing for San Francisco-based publisher Night Shade Books.

Eclipse is a series of anthologies in the vein of Orbit, Universe and New Dimensions, updated for the 21st century. It’s new and it’s proudly genre. It has no theme, and there’s no such thing as an ‘type’ of story. Instead writers are encouraged to take any and all of the colors of the genre palette – be they steampunk, cyberpunk, new space opera, old space opera, fairy tale, ghost story, hard SF, or whatever – and use them as they will to create something unique and wonderful. That said, I am particularly looking for strong science fiction stories for Volume Two.

Each volume of Eclipse features more than a dozen new stories by some of the best and brightest writers working in the field today. For example, Eclipse 1, which was published in October 2007, features Peter S. Beagle, Jack Dann & Paul Brandon, Terry Dowling, Andy Duncan, Jeffrey Ford, Kathleen Ann Goonan, Eileen Gunn, Gwyneth Jones, Ellen Klages, Margo Lanagan, Maureen F. McHugh, Garth Nix, Lucius Shepard, Bruce Sterling, and Ysabeau S. Wilce.

What I’m looking for

I am looking for stories that are between 2,500 words and 10,000 words in length (with a preference for stories around 7,500 words) and that are both previously unpublished and clearly part of the science fiction or fantasy genres.

Open reading period

I am accepting story submissions between Friday 1 February 2008 and Friday 29 February 2008. I will be reading stories during March, with an intention of responding to all submissions by the end of March.

How do you submit

Given the lateness of this announcement, I will be accepting submissions via email. Please email your submission in Rich Text Format (.rtf) to jstrahan(at)iinet(dot)net(dot)au.

What about Eclipse Three?

Honestly, I’m not sure. At the moment I’m reading for Eclipse Two. If I receive too many stories that I’d like to accept then I will contact the author about holding them over for Eclipse Three. If I don’t, then I’ll most likely have a similar open submission period in early 2009.

Eclipse reading period

Last October I said on Jeff VanderMeer’s blog that I’d be holding an open reading period for Eclipse Two and Three in February or March of this year.  Jeff has quite rightly called me on this a couple times, and I’m definitely not going to let that commitment slip. I’d preferred to have made the announcement earlier, but I’m going to read for Eclipse Two through February, and will accept stories via email.  The announcement is above, and I’d encourage everyone to forward it to anyone whom they think might be interested.  I’ll also get it to Locus, and try to get it to the relevant market news places.  I hope anyone interested, including Jeff, will send stories.

Taking into account the lateness of the announcement, I will also consider stories for Eclipse Three, though  that mostly will be if I receive too many outstanding submissions. It’s my preference, on reflection, to have a separate E3 reading period next year.

I are sick…

Have been for about a week, and it’s been slowly getting worse every day.  I’m kinda hot, fluey, with a cough. Yech.  I’m also tired, because I was woken at 4am, and am taking the girls out this morning because Marianne has an Australia Day performance. I would like to crash, die, and maybe watch cricket. Instead, we’ll be out till round 1.30pm with commitments.  Ah for a second car.

Sunday morning coming down…

We all get lost in a tangle from time to time, or so it seems to me.  Somewhere or other I got caught, addicted to following the ‘new’ in all the stuff that I consume. Which movie or book or song was the next best thing.  There’s nothing wrong with this, except you end up with a house full of review copies of books that you can’t quite persuade yourself to get rid of, a shelf full of cds that got 5 stars in some magazine that you never listen to, and can’t really remember the last movie you really loved.  You can end up feeling, as I do sometimes, quite lost in amongst the clustering, cluttering piles of stuff.

And yet…some of the old stuff still resonates, and some of the new has promise.  I listened to Madman Across the Water this morning and it doesn’t age, and I watched Raiders of the Lost Ark a few weeks ago, and it still delights.  And there is new stuff, too. Last year I found The Weepies, whose album say i am you, was my favourite new recording of 2007 and am waiting for the next eagerly. And though I almost never get to the movies these days, Hairspray was a surprising lot of fun. And books? Well, I have favourites from last year, and am part way through Iain Banks’ Matter.  It might stack up.

It’s been a week…

…since I posted, which at this time of year is kinda weird.  Very mixed couple days.  Had two major writers drop out of a book project, and one possibly drop out of another.  This is a thing that happens, and I cast no aspersions at the writers in question, but it really does focus one on what’s happening.  What else? We watched Stardust last night. It was good, but I couldn’t help feeling that it wasn’t tight enough and that Robert DeNiro’s character just didn’t quite fit. The girls will love it in about four years, though.  Been chased by some weird bug or illness or condition or thing all week. Felt blech, and haven’t read much.  Got to see one story that I liked very much (not for a project, just let see it), and browsed through some magazines.

What else? Oh, having lost track of it somehow, I found myself with no time to do my year in review essay. This is because I was dumb as a post and forgot to do it.  Turned it around in a day and a half, and moved on.  Now it’s all 2008, I guess.  Busy, busy. There has been some big news here at home, but I feel like it doesn’t quite fit here. Not sure why, but suffice to say in amongst feeling moderately horrible, one good thing was happening. We bought more fish today, and a snail (!). Whoever thought we’d end up buying a snail? Life if weird.  The tank – The Hacienda – is now full. I shan’t relate all the names here, but Orangey (formerly Courtney) and Goldy are now one of a handfull. They seem busy in there.