Awards Eligibility – 2014

Awards season is once again  moving into full swing, with nominations now open for the Nebula Awards, Hugo Awards and World Fantasy Awards.

Having been fairly busy during 2014, I’ve been fortunate enough to help publish a number of what I think are really excellent works of fiction that I think are worthy of your consideration. It was a year when I edited or co-edited a new collection of Jack Vance fiction, three anthologies, edited an issue of an online magazine, appeared on more than 40 podcast episodes, and still acted as reviews editor for Locus.

The anthologies, of which I’m very proud, are:

Fearsome Magics (Solaris)
Reach for Infinity (Solaris)
The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year: Volume Eight (Solaris)
Subterranean Magazine, Winter 2014 (Subterranean)

As a guide, fiction in Reach for Infinity is science fiction, in Fearsome Magics is fantasy/dark fantasy, and in Subterranean Magazine is mixed.

Fiction edited in 2014

Short story

“Caligo Lane”, Ellen Klages (Subterranean)
“Amicae Aeternum”, Ellen Klages (Reach for Infinity)
“Invisible Planets”, Hannu Rajaniemi (Reach for Infinity)
“Devil’s Bridge”, Frances Hardinge (Fearsome Magics)
“Nanny Anne”, Karen Joy Fowler (Subterranean)
“Hiraeth: A Tragedy in Four Acts”, Karen Lord (Reach for Infinity)
“Where Our Edges Lie”, Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fearsome Magics)
“Aberration”, Genevieve Valentine (Fearsome Magics)
“The Entire Immense Superstructure’: An Installation”, Ken Macleod (Reach for Infinity)
“Dream London Hospital”, Tony Ballantyne (Fearsome Magics)
“Migration”, Karin Tidbeck (Fearsome Magics)
“The Dun Letter”, Christopher Rowe (Fearsome Magics)
“In Babelsberg”, Alastair Reynolds (Reach for Infinity)
“The Scrivener”, Eleanor Arnason (Subterranean)
“Trademark Bugs: A Legal History”, Adam Roberts (Reach for Infinity)
“Hay Fever”, Frances Hardinge (Subterranean)
“Hey Presto!”, Ellen Klages (Fearsome Magics)
“On Skybolt Mountain”, Justina Robson (Fearsome Magics)
“The Nursery Corner”, Kaaron Warren (Fearsome Magics)
“Safe House”, K J Parker (Fearsome Magics)
“The Prelate’s Commission”, Jeffrey Ford (Subterranean)
“I Met A Man Who Wasn’t There.”, KJ Parker (Subterranean)
“Hotshot”, Peter Watts (Reach for Infinity)
“The Dust Queen”, Aliette de Bodard (Reach for Infinity)


“The Fifth Dragon”, Ian McDonald (Reach for Infinity)
“Break My Fall”, Greg Egan (Reach for Infinity)
“Attitude”, Linda Nagata (Reach for Infinity)
“Grigori’s Solution”, Isobelle Carmody (Fearsome Magics)
“Report Concerning the Presence of Seahorses On Mars”, Pat Cadigan (Reach for Infinity)
“The Changeling”, James Bradley (Fearsome Magics)
“Bit Players”, Greg Egan (Subterranean)
“Ice in the Bedroom”, Robert Shearman (Fearsome Magics)
“Kheldyu”, Karl Schroeder (Reach for Infinity)
“Wilder Still”, the Stars”, Kathleen Ann Goonan (Reach for Infinity)
“Home is the Haunter”, Garth Nix (Fearsome Magics)


“Pilgrims of the Round World”, Bruce Sterling (Subterranean)

Editor, Short-Form (Hugos)/Professional Achievement (WFA)

  • Jonathan Strahan (Fearsome Magics, Reach for Infinity, Subterranean, Winter 2014, The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year: Volume Eight, Locus [reviews editor], Minding the Stars)

Best Fancast

The Coode Street Podcast [Episodes 175 – 212] [co-hosted with Gary K. Wolfe.]

I hope you’ll consider supporting the talented people that I’ve worked with during the year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.